South Suburban College, Triton College push forward with Region IV Division II championships

Photo courtesy of Triton College Athletics
Photo courtesy of Triton College Athletics

SUGAR GROVE, ILL. - South Suburban College and Triton College both continued a run of recent dominance with Region IV Division II Men's Basketball Tournament Championships in 2018.

The second-seeded Bulldogs (28-5) claimed the District 4 title with a 76-67 victory over top-seeded Morton College to claim their ninth Region IV crown in the last 12 years. One of three players to score in double-figures, Jordan Matthews had 13 points and was named the Tournament MVP. South Suburban College also defeated seventh-seeded Oakton Community College and third-seeded Waubonsee Community College to reach the championship game.

The top-seeded Trojans (29-4) ran away with the District 3 crown by routing third-seeded Olive-Harvey College by a 102-64 final to return to the national tournament after a one-year hiatus. Alondes Williams scored 18 points to lead six double-digit scorers and earn Tournament MVP honors. High-scoring Triton College surpassed the century mark in all three wins, with an average margin of victory of 38.7 points in defeating eighth-seeded McHenry County College and fifth-seeded Illinois Valley Community College leading up to the title game.

Both teams will represent Region IV at the NJCAA Division II Men's Basketball Championship from March 20-24 in Danville, Illinois (Mary Miller Center). Tournament seedings, pairings, and game times have yet to be announced.

2018 District 3 All-Tournament Team

Corey Shepherd - Triton College
Najee Brown-Henderson - Triton College
Deonta Terrell - Triton College
Jarviss Sutton - Olive-Harvey College
Sean Atwater - Olive-Harvey College

Tournament MVP
Alondes Williams - Triton College

Coach of the Year
Steve Christiansen - Triton College


2018 District 4 All-Tournament Team

Lawrence Lemon - South Suburban College
Jamal Bailey - South Suburban College
Jeffery Brown - Morton College
Deonte McReynolds - Morton College
Mason Vires - Morton College

Tournament MVP
Jordan Matthews - South Suburban College

Coach of the Year
John Pigatti - South Suburban College


Tournament Central