Kankakee, Bryant & Stratton claim Region IV Division II titles

Photo courtesy of Bryant & Stratton College Athletics
Photo courtesy of Bryant & Stratton College Athletics

SUGAR GROVE, ILL. - A familiar name and a brand new name found their way to the top of the Region IV Division II Women's Basketball Tournaments as Kankakee Community College rolled to the District D title and Bryant & Stratton College emerged from the District L field.

The top-seeded Lady Cavaliers (23-7) won their 20th Region IV crown with a resounding 91-62 defeat third-seeded Prairie State College. Jasmine Elliott led four players in double-figures with 22 points and was named the Tournament MVP. Kankankee's path to the title included wins over eighth-seed College of Lake County and fifth-seeded Morton College.

Meanwhile, top-seeded Bobcats (24-9), who were playing in their first-ever postseason tournament and in their second year as a program, needed a fourth quarter rally and overtime to get past third-seeded McHenry County College by an 81-70 final. Kiara Donaldson, the two-time Region IV Division II District L Player of the Year, was named Tournament MVP after scoring 19 points. Bryant & Stratton also picked up wins over eighth-seeded Oakton Community College and fourth-seeded Moraine Valley Community College.

Both team advance to the NJCAA Division II Women's Basketball Championship from March 20-24 in Harrison, Arkansas (Pioneer Pavilion). Tournament seedings, pairings, and game times have yet to be announced. 


2018 District D All-Tournament Team

Mariah Anderson - Kankakee Community College
Kiara Moses - Kankakee Community College
Elexis Irvin - Prairie State College
Caitlin Marshall - Prairie State College
Dasia McByrd - Prairie State College

Tournament MVP
Jasmine Elliott - Kankakee Community College

Coach of the Year
Donnie Denson - Kankakee Community College


2018 District L All-Tournament Team

Jazlyn Drake - Bryant & Stratton College
Ashley Williams - Bryant & Stratton College
Lacey Gardner - McHenry County College
Kaleigh Johnson - McHenry County College
McKaylie Krey - McHenry County College

Tournament MVP
Kiara Donaldson - Bryant & Stratton College

Coach of the Year
Jeff Lorenz - Bryant & Stratton College


Tournament Central