Carl Sandburg, Moraine Valley take second, fifth Region IV DII titles

Carl Sandburg, Moraine Valley take second, fifth Region IV DII titles

GRAYSLAKE, ILL. - Following a pair of three-set sweeps in their respective championship matches, Carl Sandburg College and Moraine Valley Community College each secured a Region IV Division II Women's Volleyball title in 2018. The Chargers were the last team standing in the District A bracket after taking down defending Region IV champion Sauk Valley Community College, 25-15, 25-17, 25-17 to win their second straight region crown. The Cyclones are Region IV champs for a fifth time following their 25-19, 25-23, 25-23 defeat of Waubonsee Community College to close out the District B bracket. Todd Winkler of Sandburg and Lauren Lorenz of MVCC were named Region IV Coaches of the Year.

Carl Sandburg College, which hit .388 for the match, was led by Hannah Thompson with 13 kills, a .429 attack percentage, and six aces. Peyton Bowman added nine kills, while Cora Vyhnanek produced 30 assists. Haley Stevenson keyed the defensive effort with 17 digs. The Chargers are 26-17 on the season, while Sauk Valley closes with a 20-20 mark.

Moraine Valley Community College used 16 kills, 12 digs, and a .389 attack percentage from Abbigail Fletcher to pick up their championship victory. Amanda Bulow contributed nine kills and nine digs. Taylor Bulow racked up 29 assists and 13 digs, trailing only Lauren Gausselin with 18 digs. The Cyclones are 19-6 and the Chiefs finished the year 24-16.

Carl Sandburg and Moraine Valley will both compete at the 2018 NJCAA Division II Women's Volleyball National Championships in Charleston, West Virginia, from November 15-17.

2018 Region IV Division II All-Tournament Team

District A

Hannah Terrill - Black Hawk College
Peyton Bowman - Carl Sandburg College
Haley Stevenson - Carl Sandburg College
Jenna Lusietto - Illinois Valley Community College
Kimmy Hammond - McHenry County College
Macie Good - Sauk Valley Community College
Natalie Jones - Waubonsee Community College

Coach of the Year
Todd Winkler - Carl Sandburg College

District B

Andrea Miranda - Bryant & Stratton College
Kassidi Burton - Kankakee Community College
Angie Tueschel - College of Lake County
Abbi Fletcher - Moraine Valley Community College
Taylor Bulow - Moraine Valley Community College
Elizabeth Coffey - Moraine Valley Community College
Mary Sarkissian - Oakton Community College

Coach of the Year
Lauren Lorenz - Moraine Valley Community College


(Photos courtesy of Carl Sandburg College Athletics and Moraine Valley Community College Athletics)